Crock Pot Beef Stroganoff

Due to the popularity of my last crock pot recipe for Italian Beef Sandwiches, I’ve decided to post another new slow cooker recipe I found, and to share a fantastic blog.  Crock Pot Girls is a blog dedicated ENTIRELY to slow cooker recipes!  And let me tell you, there’s some good ones!  I’m a big fan of slow cooker recipes, especially during the winter months.  There’s so many good things you can make in a slow cooker; stews, chili, soup, you name it.  Plus, it’s sooo easy to cook with a slow cooker!  Just throw the ingredients in, and when you come home after a long day of work…and as Chef PickyKid says, “VOILA! It’s ready!!’

This is a slightly modified recipe from Crock Pot Girls for Beef Stroganoff.  When I cook with a slow cooker, I like to brown the meat a little first; it just seems to add a little more texture.  I couldn’t find cream of onion soup as the original recipe called for, so I just used two cans of cream of mushroom soup and added a little onion powder.  I also used light cream cheese and sour cream so I could save on calories, and it tasted fantastic!

The original recipe calls for canned mushrooms, but my husband is not a big fan of mushrooms, so I didn’t use them (I know mushrooms are kind of a staple of beef stroganoff, but I didn’t want to watch him pick all the mushrooms out!).  If I were to make this for a non-mushroom hater, I would probably add a container of fresh cremini mushrooms to the recipe.

Here’s my recipe for Crock Pot Beef Stroganoff:

1-2 pounds beef for stew-I used top round steak that wasn’t already cut up because it’s much less expensive, but you could buy pre-cut stew meat to save on time.  You could also use london broil.

2 tablespoons of olive oil

Salt and Pepper

2 cans cream of mushroom soup-I used the low fat option.

1 cup beef stock or broth

1 small yellow onion, chopped

2 cloves garlic, chopped

1 8 ounce package of cream cheese-I used light cream cheese.

1 8 oz container sour cream-I also used light sour cream.

Egg noodles or rice, cooked according to package directions.

Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat with 2 tablespoons of olive oil.  Season the beef with salt and pepper, and brown in the heated skillet for about 5 minutes on each side or until browned on each side.  If you’re using pre-cut meat, you’ll only need to brown for a few minutes-just until the meat begins to brown.

Remove the meat from the pan and allow to cool enough to handle and cut into bite sized chunks. Place the meat into a crock pot and add the soup, beef stock or broth, onion, garlic, and another 1/2 teaspoon of pepper.  Mix the ingredients together and cook in the crock pot on low for 8-10 hour or until the beef is tender.

Prepare egg noodles or rice according to package directions.  While the noodles or rice are cooking, add the cream cheese to the beef mixture and stir until it’s melted.  Add the sour cream and stir to combine.  Serve the beef stroganoff over the egg noodles or rice.

 

This isn’t the best picture in the world, but you get the idea.  Man, I really need one of those fancy cameras!! 🙂

7 Responses

  1. I love Beef Stroganoff – and anything that can be done in a slow cooker is a plus!

  2. I love beef stroganoff, especially in the slow cooker! Your recipe sounds fab!

  3. Thanks so much for sharing! My sister and I are always looking for great slow cooker recipes. I will def be sharing this with her!

Leave a Reply

