Cheddar Bacon Ale Dip

As you may already know, football is a national pasttime in my house.  And along with a day filled with couch dwelling and football comes lots of tasty game day recipes.  I found this Cheddar Bacon Ale Dip recipe from another blog I’ve recently discovered… Dinner, Dishes and Desserts  . There’s a ton of tasty recipes!

This dip has three of my favorite ingredients-cheese, beer, and bacon!  You just can’t go wrong if any one of these ingredients are in a recipe, let alone all three!! The original recipe for this dip also uses homemade pretzel bites, which look amazing!  But unfortunately, I’m too lazy  too busy 🙂 to make them from scratch so I just used store bought pretzel bites.

I used a heavier ale for this recipe, and I think it had a little too much beer flavor.  I know, how is that possible, right?! But I think if I make it again I’ll use a lighter flavored ale or maybe a little less beer (3/4 of the bottle instead of the full bottle).

Here’s what you’ll need for Cheddar Bacon Ale Dip:

6 slices of bacon, diced

1 12 ounce bottle ale style beer

2 teaspoons dijon mustard

4 ounces cream cheese cut into squares.  I used light cream cheese in this recipe, although I don’t think it mattered much, since I already have cheese and bacon in the recipe.  🙂

2 cups of sharp or extra sharp cheddar cheese

1/2 teaspoon hot pepper sauce

Salt and ground black pepper to taste

Directions: 

Heat a large pan over medium heat and cook the bacon until browned and crisp.  Remove the bacon from the pan with a slotted spoon and place on a paper towel-lined plate; leave a few tablespoons of bacon grease in the pan.

Add the flour to the bacon grease and whisk together for about 1 minute.  Whisk in the beer, and cook until it begins to thicken.  Whisk in the mustard and turn the heat to low.  Mix in the cream cheese and stir until melted.  Stir in the hot pepper sauce.  Add the cheddar cheese one handful at a time and stir until all the cheese is melted and the dip is hot.

Add a handful or two of bacon back to the dip and stir to combine.  Reserve a little of the bacon and sprinkle on top of the dip to use as garnish.  Serve warm with pretzel bites.  If you’re feeling ambitious, check out the homemade pretzel bites on Dinner, Dishes, and Dessert’s blog.

Enjoy!

2 Responses

  1. Yeah! So glad you made this! Perfect fr a Football party!

Leave a Reply

