Kath’s Meatloaf

As a kid, I was never much of a meatloaf fan.  My father likes meatloaf, so he made it a lot when I was growing up.  Looking back on it, it was a good recipe (maybe he could post it on our blog?!), but  I just really didn’t like meatloaf.  I mean, it’s a log of beef with ketchup on it; what’s to love, right?  Well, as I’ve gotten older I’ve developed a newfound appreciation of meatloaf.  It’s a great comfort food, and nothing goes better with a plate full of mashed potatoes than a huge hunk of meatloaf!

Recently, a friend of mine made her mom’s famous meatloaf for a dinner get together, and I loved it!  So when my husband requested meatloaf for dinner, I could think of no better meatloaf recipe than Kath’s Meatloaf.  It’s a classic meatloaf recipe that’s super easy to make.  I changed my version up just a little bit, but the original recipe is fantastic!  Enjoy!

Here’s what you’ll need for Kath’s Meatloaf: 

1 pound lean ground beef or sirloin

2 links italian sausage (I used mild, but you could use spicy sausage for a little extra kick)

2 cloves garlic, minced or grated

1/2 yellow onion, grated (I like to grate the onion so I get the flavor of onion without tasting large chunks)

1 egg

1 small can of tomato paste

Salt and pepper, to taste (I used about 1/2 tsp salt and 1/2 tsp pepper)

3/4 cup Italian breadcrumbs

2-3 tablespoons ketchup

2 tablespoons brown sugar

Hot pepper sauce, a few dashes

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

In a large bowl, combine ground beef or sirloin, italian sausage, garlic, onion, egg, tomato paste, breadcrumbs, salt and pepper, and a few dashes of hot pepper sauce (2-3).

Place meat in a bread loaf pan or form into a large loaf and place in a small 8X8 baking dish.  Spray the dish with cooking spray to prevent sticking.  Bake the meatloaf, uncovered for 50 minutes.

While the meatloaf is baking, in a small bowl mix together 2-3 tablespoons of ketchup, 2 tablespoons of brown sugar, and a few more dashes of hot sauce.  Pour this mixture over the top of the meatloaf and return to the oven to bake for ten more minutes.  Allow to cool for 5-10 minutes before serving.  Serve with a big ol’ heap of mashed potatoes!!

One Response

  1. Mmmmm, meatloaf! That’s one of those classic dishes that everyone loves. Or if they don’t, they probably need massive amounts of therapy :-D. Yours sounds delicious!

Leave a Reply

