Salsa Verde Turkey Burgers with Avocado Mayonnaise

I discovered this recipe on Rachael Ray’s television show quite some time ago, and I’ve  made some modifications to it over the years.  My husband and I love this recipe!  This was actually the first turkey burger recipe I made for my husband.  Naturally, he was skeptical at first.  He had a tough time with the concept of a burger being made with turkey.  He’s a guy, so he’s used to big, beefy, greasy burgers!  But I won him over with this one.  This is not to say that he has converted solely to the turkey burger varietal; even I admit that I love a good, greasy cheeseburger from time to time. But this is a tasty, relatively healthy turkey burger recipe that I think even the beefy burger connoiseur will enjoy.

Here’s what you’ll need for Salsa Verde Turkey Burgers: 

1 Pound of ground turkey, whatever kind you like.  I use 90% lean, but you can definitely use leaner ground turkey, or even ground turkey breast if you want it to be super lean.

1 Avocado, halved and pitted

1/2 Cup mayonnaise

1 clove garlic, minced

1/2 small yellow onion, minced or grated

1/2 Cup Salsa Verde

1/2 can of canned diced green chilies or 3 whole green canned chilies, chopped

About 1/4 cup chopped pickled jalapenos; I  just use a small handful.  If you want it to be extra spicy, you could use one fresh jalapeno, diced.

Salt and Pepper

1 Cup fresh cilantro, roughly chopped2 Small red tomatoes, sliced

Pepperjack cheese, about 4 oz or 4 slices-one for each burger

Hamburger buns or kaiser buns.  I usually use the kaiser buns because they’re bigger, sturdier and tastier.  I used a hamburger bun in the picture.

Scoop the avocado into a small bowl, and  use a fork to mash it with the mayonnaise and garlic. Don’t mash it up too much, you want the mayonnaise to be somewhat chunky to give it texture.  Season it with a little salt and set aside.

In a large bowl, combine the ground turkey with the salsa, chilies, jalapenos and onion and mix to combine.  I just use my hands to mix it up (of course after washing them, and once I’m done, I wash them again).  Divide the mixture to form four patties.  I make my patties a little narrower toward the center, or press the center with my thumb after I’ve formed the patties; this will prevent the patties from shrinking.

Heat a large non-stick skillet or grill pan over medium-high heat.  Cook the patties for approximately five minutes.  Flip the patties and top each with a slice of cheese.  Cover the patties with a lid or aluminum foil tent and cook for five minutes more.

Spread the avocado/mayonnaise mixture on the bottom of each roll or hamburger bun and cover with a handful of cilantro.  Top it with a turkey burger and sliced tomato and place the other half of the roll or bun on top.

Enjoy!

 

6 Responses

  1. Yum! I love the big slice of cheese on there!

  2. Looks good!!!!! Yeah, I need to do something different with my turkey burgers…

  3. Adam was skeptical, too, when we first made turkey burgers but one bite brought him around. We like to add a panade to keep them from getting so dry and he swears they are as good as the beef ones. We also make turkey meatloaf which he loves too! Love the jalapeño and avocado…

    • That’s a great idea! I’m definitely going to try that the next time I make turkey burgers. We use a lot of ground turkey in place of ground beef; it’s so much healthier.

Leave a Reply

