Crock Pot Italian Beef Sandwiches

It’s the most wonderful time of the year…fall is approaching and magnificent Arizona weather is on its way.  My favorite holidays are just around the corner.  But more important, IT’S FOOTBALL SEASON!!!!  For the next 17 weeks, I have an excuse to flop on the couch on any given Sunday, because I’m watching football.

Football is an event in my house.  Sunday is all about football, from the moment we wake up, until the last game ends on Sunday night.  Even Chef PickyKid loves football; she watches the games with us, and can recite our favorite team’s fight song.  And of course,  any great event must include great food.  I like to make easy to prepare recipes on game day, so I don’t have to spend too much time in the kitchen and away from the games.  That’s why crock pot recipes are perfect for football Sunday!  And, as the weather gets cooler, crock pots are great for making comfort foods (yes, I realize “cooler” for us means 70 degrees, but after two years of living in the desert, 70 degrees feels downright chilly to me).

I got this recipe from a co-worker and added a few ingredients.  I prepared it before kickoff for the morning games, and it was ready by the time the afternoon games were over.  The meat is incredibly tender, very tasty and had just a little bit of spiciness.  Yummmm!!!

Here’s what you’ll need for Crock Pot Italian Beef Sandwiches:

3 Pounds of beef cross rib roast or chuck roast

About 2 tablespoons of olive oil, a few turns of a large pot or dutch oven.

1 Package of Good Seasons Italian Dressing Mix

2 1/2  Cups of beef broth or stock

1 Package of Au Jus gravy mix

2 teaspoons of Italian seasoning

Kosher Salt and Pepper

About 1/2 jar of Mezzetta Pepperoncinis, stems removed and sliced; I used a little more than half the jar, because I like it a little spicier.

1 Yellow onion, sliced

2 cloves garlic, divided

Ciabatta bread or sandwich rolls

Muenster cheese

Directions: 

Heat a large pot or dutch oven over medium-high heat with about 2 tablespoons of olive oil.

Rub the roast with one clove of garlic.  You won’t use the entire clove.  I usually cut the garlic in half, and rub the meat with the cut end of the garlic.  Make sure you rub the garlic over the entire roast.  Season the roast with kosher salt and pepper and brown it in the heated pot.  Be sure the pot is hot when you add the meat so it will get nice and browned on both sides.

While the meat is browning, add the broth, Italian dressing mix, Au Jus mix, Italian seasoning, Pepperoncinis, onion, and one clove of minced garlic to a crock pot.  When the meat is browned, add it to the crock pot and cook on low heat for at least 4-6 hours.

Remove the meat from the crock pot and shred it, but don’t throw away the liquid from the crock pot! The meat will be very tender, so this won’t take a lot of effort.  I just shred it with two forks.  Add the meat back to the crock pot and stir it into the liquid.

Serve the Italian Beef with Ciabatta bread or sandwich rolls and the Muenster cheese.  I was a little hesitant about using Muenster, as it isn’t one of my favorite cheeses, but trust me, it’s delicious!!

Happy Game Day!!

9 Responses

  1. Yum, these sound good! I love anything that comes from a slowcooker and this would be no exception!

  2. Love this recipe. So simple and delicious! Thanks for sharing!

  3. Love Italian Beef Sandwiches! I always top with a few sauteed mushrooms!

  4. Beef cooked in a crock pot is one of the best ways to prepare it. I like the use of the dressing mix in the recipe-that is something I have yet to try, sounds like it would be tasty. Thanks for sharing this one.

  5. […] to the popularity of my last crock pot recipe for Italian Beef Sandwiches, I’ve decided to post another new slow cooker recipe I found, and to share a […]

Leave a Reply

