Carne Asada

This is the second installment of Mexican Food Mania.  If you had a chance to check out my last post for Chicken Enchiladas, you know that this labor day weekend was one filled with Mexican dishes; four days worth, to be exact.

I prepared Carne Asada for dinner with friends on Saturday night. I love Carne Asada; it’s so easy to make, and very difficult to mess up.  I’ve tried many variations of marinades, and all of them have been fantastic.  You really can’t go wrong.

What I have learned from the many times I’ve made this dish is that the longer the meat marinates, the tastier and more tender it will be!  I recommend marinating overnight whenever possible.

Here’s my latest version of Carne Asada.  I’m just posting the recipe for the meat, so you can decide what you’d like to serve with it.  I usually serve it with tortillas (corn and flour),Pico de Gallo, cilantro, and some avocado or fresh guacamole.  You can also serve with sour cream and/or cheese, but to be honest, the meat is so good that a lot of extra stuff on it will really mask the flavors and adds a lot of empty calories.  I don’t know about you, but I don’t need any extra calories!

Here’s what you’ll need for the Carne Asada

2-3 pounds of flank or skirt steak.  This will serve 6 with plenty of leftovers.  Sometimes flank and skirt steak can be a little expensive, so if you are a chef on a budget, you can also use thin cut top round steak.  The top round steak will be a little less tender than the other steak, but still just as flavorful.  I used the top round for the Carne Asada in this recipe’s photo.

1/2 yellow onion, chopped

3-4 cloves garlic, minced

About 1 cup of chopped cilantro; I usually use 2 big handfuls of cilantro

1 jalapeno pepper, diced

1/2 cup olive oil

1 Mexican style beer; I use Negro Modelo

Juice  and zest of one orange

Juice and zest of two limes

Salt and Pepper

Directions: 

Whisk all ingredients together in a large bowl and season with a little salt and pepper.  Place steak in a 9X13 baking dish and pour  the marinade into the dish.  Cover with foil and marinate for at least 4-6 hours.  If you can marinate overnight, that would be even better.

Heat a grill over high heat and grill for 5 minutes on each side. Remove from the grill and allow the meat to rest for about 5 minutes before chopping or slicing.

Enjoy!!

8 Responses

  1. Great Recipe! Only one diced jalapeno? Will try it this week.

    • You know I usually love extra spicy food, but for Carne Asada I like to taste more of the garlic, cilantro and beer! 🙂 If you want a little more heat you could use a serrano pepper instead of a jalapeño. Thanks for checking out and commenting on my blog!!

  2. OOohh!!! How we love Carne Asada!! I haven’t had a real successful recipe, as such I usually use the TJ’s version. This one looks like a winner, though!!!

    • I’ve tried a lot of different recipes, but this one is my favorite so far; it has a lot of flavor, and anything marinated in beer is bound to be good! 🙂 Thank you for checking out my blog!

  3. Oh…now. That’s just lovely!

  4. […] the idea for the muffins from a blog post I found on Foodbuzz.com.  The original recipe was for Pumpkin Smore Muffins  on Keep it Sweet’s food blog.  They looked so tasty, I couldn’t wait to make them on […]

  5. This page trulү has all оf the info I wanted aboսt thhis subject andd didn’t ҡnow whoo
    tߋ ask.

Leave a Reply

