Chicken Enchiladas

Earlier this week I had a craving for Mexican food.   Oh man, did I ever satisfy my craving this weekend!  It’s Sunday night, and I just realized that I have eaten mexican food  every day since Thursday!!

Thursday night was the first night of Mexican Food Mania, and on the menu was a dish inspired by a recipe for Shredded Chicken Enchiladas  I found on A Sweet Pea Chef’s blog.  I like this recipe because it’s really easy to make, and not too terribly bad for ChefPickyKid and the family.   The only “not quite so healthy” item on the recipe is cheese, but what are enchiladas without cheese?! But, I use extra sharp cheese so I don’t have to use as much while still getting that cheesy flavor I’m looking for!

Just like the recipe that inspired it, I used pre-made enchilada sauce.  But, I added a few things to give it a little extra flavor.  And to be honest, if it tastes good, who cares if it came from a can, right?!  Plus, it takes about 1/3 the amount of time to make, and on a busy Thursday night, the quicker I can make dinner, the happier I will be.

Here’s what you’ll need for Chicken Enchiladas:

2 cloves garlic, minced

1/2 yellow onion, finely chopped or minced

3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts

Kosher salt and ground black pepper

2 cups of canned enchilada sauce ( I buy the large can, but I don’t use it all because it’s a little more than 2 cups)

2 diced chipotles in adobo with sauce

1 cup sharp or extra sharp cheddar cheese, divided

1 cup jack cheese, divided

1/2 cup cilantro, chopped plus 2 extra tablespoons

4 Scallions, chopped

12 6 inch corn tortillas

2 tablespoons olive oil, divided

Directions for Chicken Enchiladas:

Pre-heat oven to 425

In a large, deep skillet, heat one tablespoon of olive oil over medium heat.  Add onion and garlic, and saute until onion is soft and translucent; this should take about 5-7 minutes.  Add the enchilada sauce and chipotles to the onion and garlic and heat to boiling.  Sprinkle the chicken with kosher salt and pepper, and place them into the sauce.  Reduce the heat to low, cover and simmer for 20-25 minutes or until the chicken is cooked through.  Remove the chicken from the sauce and set aside to cool.  Remove the sauce  from the heat and allow to cool.

Once the chicken is cool enough to handle, shred it with two forks or just shred with your hands.  Transfer the chicken to a large bowl.  Add half the enchilada sauce, 1/2 cup of each of the Monterey jack and cheddar cheeses and the 1/2 cup of cilantro to the chicken and stir to combine.

Spray a 9X13 baking dish with cooking spray.  Heat one tablespoon of olive oil in a small skillet over medium-high heat.  When skillet is heated, cook the tortillas just until warmed.  You aren’t frying the tortillas, and you don’t want them to be crispy. Warming the tortillas will make them more pliable and less likely to break when you’re handling them.   The olive oil is added just to keep the tortillas from sticking to the pan.  Spoon about 2-3 tablespoons of the chicken mixture in the middle of the tortilla, roll immediately after heating and place in the baking dish.  I had my husband help me with heating the tortillas, so we made it like an assembly line; he heated a tortilla and I rolled it.  If you don’t have a kitchen helper, I would suggest heating the tortilla and rolling it with the chicken before heating the next.  If you wait too long after heating them, the tortillas will become stiff and hard to handle.

After the tortillas are rolled and placed in the baking dish, pour the remaining enchilada sauce over the enchiladas.  Top the enchiladas with the remaining 1/2 cup of jack and cheddar cheeses, and sprinkle the cilantro and scallions on top.  Cover with foil and bake for 20 minutes.  Remove the foil and bake uncovered for another 5-10 minutes or until the cheese is golden.

I sprinkled a little extra cilantro on top for garnish.

Stay tuned for more recipes from Mexican Food Mania weekend!!

3 Responses

  1. This recipe does look like a tasty one. My issue with enchiladas is that sometimes they are just too soupy. Your sauce ratio to number of enchiladas sounds just right. Great picture!

    • I would agree with you Tina, sometimes enchiladas are a little too heavy on the sauce and cheese, so it gets mushy. I think the amount of sauce in this one was great; the enchiladas still had a lot of texture. Thanks for checking out my blog!

  2. […] on how fat you stuff them.  You can also use corn tortillas if you prefer.  See my recipe for Chipotle Chicken Enchiladas for tips on using corn […]

Leave a Reply

