Asian Slaw

I received an e-mail from my sister-in-law recently.  The e-mail was a recipe for Asian Slaw that she had recently made; she said she liked the recipe because it used fresh ginger (which she loves), but she was looking for something a little spicier and wanted to know if I had any suggestions.

First of all, I always have ideas to make dishes spicier!! If there’s one thing I’m good at, it’s making food spicy!  My husband and I are big fans of spicy food-like the kind of spicy that will make your eyes water and your mouth burn.  But not to worry; I always tone down the heat in the recipes I share with others.

Secondly, I was touched that she would come to me for recipe ideas!  I know it sounds cheesy, but that seemed to validate for me that people enjoy my cooking and recipes.

So, here’s my recipe for asian slaw, as inspired by my sister-in-law.  I didn’t try the original recipe, but I think this one has a lot of flavor.  It’s spicy, but not too spicy. I actually wanted to name this recipe “Spicy Asian Slaw”, but I didn’t want to set the wrong expectations. I also used this as a topper for the  Teriyaki Pulled Chicken.

If you REALLY want to make this spicy, you could add  a finely chopped serrano chili (about a tablespoon) with the membranes removed.  It wouldn’t cause your mouth to catch on fire since the membranes are removed, but it would definitely spice it up!

This will make a pretty large amount of Slaw-enough to serve 6-8, and you’ll probably have leftovers.

1 Large Head Napa Cabbage, Cored and Shredded

1 Bag (about 8 ounces) Shredded Carrots

6 Scallions, Chopped (okay to use green and white parts, but green gives it color)

Handful of fresh Cilantro, Chopped (about 1/2 cup)

For the dressing: 

12 Tablespoons Extra Virgin Olive Oil

8 Tablespoons Rice Vinegar or Rice Wine Vinegar

8 Teaspoons Sesame Oil

8 Teaspoons Soy Sauce

4 Teaspoons Dijon Mustard

2 -3 Teaspoons Red Chili Oil (you can find this where Asian foods are sold in your local grocery store) or 1-2 Teaspoons Red Chili Flakes ( add a little at a time and season to taste depending on how spicy you want it).

4 Teaspoons Fresh Ginger

4 Teaspoons Fresh Garlic, Minced or Grated

Salt and Pepper to Taste

In a large bowl, whisk together the olive oil, rice vinegar,  sesame oil, soy sauce, chili oil or chili flakes, mustard, garlic, and ginger.  Add the cabbage, carrots, bell pepper, scallions, and cilantro and mix together with the dressing.  Season with salt and pepper to taste.  Refrigerate for at least 3 hours, but it’s best if you make it the night before and let it refrigerate overnight.  

2 Responses

  1. Ericka, first of all this looks delicious! And second, your blog looks SOOOOO good! I love how it’s coming along. What kind of camera are you using now? Looks great and I love the close-up pictures.

    • Thanks Chi Chi! I’m having a lot of fun putting it together, and Chloe loves it too! I’m still using my digital camera; I really want an SLR camera, but I have to save up for it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

