Spicy Pasta Salad with Smoked Gouda

Anyone who knows me knows that I have a great fondness of smoked cheeses.  I don’t know what it is about smoked cheese, but love any recipe that includes it.  It doesn’t matter what kind of smoked cheese-smoked cheddar, gouda, mozzarella, whatever-I’m not picky; if it’s smoked, I love it. 🙂

As you also may have noticed by the recipes I’ve posted so far, I also love pasta.  Pasta dishes are easy to make, versatile, and great for serving large groups.  And of course, pasta is delicious!!  I could never survive on a low carb diet; I think I would be a starving, angry person without carbs!

So, this recipe has two of my favorite ingredients-smoked gouda cheese and pasta!!  I got my inspiration for this one from another blog, but added my own spin.

The chipotles add a little spice and a lot of flavor.  The pasta includes chicken, so it can be a main dish or a side.   And the longer you let the pasta chill, the better it will taste. I let it chill for 2-3 hours and it was amazing!

You can also use whole grain or whole wheat pasta if you want to make it a little healthier; I’ve made this dish twice, and used wheat pasta the second time I made it.  It was great with regular pasta and whole wheat pasta, but I did notice that the dressing didn’t absorb as well into the wheat pasta, and the nutty flavor of the wheat took a little away from the flavor of the dressing.  Still good, but definitely a different flavor and consistency; I think that’s pretty common with wheat or whole grain pasta.

This recipe should serve 4, with some leftovers for lunch the next day.

Here’s my recipe for Spicy Pasta Salad with Smoked Gouda.  Enjoy! 

1 Package Penne Pasta, Cooked Al Dente According to Package Instructions

1 Container Grape Tomatoes, Halved

4-5 OZ Smoked Gouda Cheese, Cut into Bite Sized Chunks

1 1/2 Cups Cooked Chicken Breast, Cut into Bite Sized Chunks

14-15 Basil Leaves, Shredded or Chopped

For the Dressing:

1 Cup Mayonaise

1/3 Cup White Vinegar

6 Tablespoons Milk

4-5 Tablespoons of Chipotle in Adobo Sauce, or One Chipotle in Adobo Finely Chopped (you can find this in a can, usually in the hispanic foods section of your favorite grocery store)*** 

Salt and Pepper, to Taste

***Usually when you cook with chipotle in adobo, you’ll have a bunch left over.  A cool trick to save the rest is to freeze it in a ziploc bag; then you can use it the next time you need it!! I learned this trick from Rachael Ray. 🙂

After the penne pasta is cooked and drained, transfer to a large bowl.

Combine mayonnaise,  milk, vinegar, and chipotles.

Combine pasta with dressing, tomatoes, basil, chicken and smoked gouda.  Season with salt and pepper to taste.

Chill pasta until cold; the longer it chills, the better it tastes, so try to give it 2-3 hours.

Leave a Reply

